How I Use Pinterest to Prepare NaNoWriMo

This is a fantastic idea for organizing and researching. I’ve actually struggled to find value in Pinterest for anything other than “fun” ideas. This gives me some real insight into other uses for the site. I just had to share with other writers as it’s a fantastic idea. Thank you!

La duchesse d'Erat

As NaNoWriMo excitement it building up, tips and tricks for researching and preparing you writing project seem to be topics to talk about.
I chose to talk about Pinterest because it’s a powerful and user friendly tool that can help you build your world, especially if you’re a visual person.

I first used Pinterest to research my NaNoWriMo in 2013. My characters had a very specific way to dress, which was completely different depending on where they lived in my fictional city. I needed to create a general look and feel for this place, and wanted to nail down the different dress codes. I needed to define a certain fashion style for each neighborhood of the city and how  my characters customized that look.

I also used it to research writing techniques and the technical knowledge I lacked.

Creative writing techniques : Although Pinterest is designed to share pictures, writers…

View original post 340 more words

2 thoughts on “How I Use Pinterest to Prepare NaNoWriMo

  1. Thanks for posting this. Like most, I created a Pinterest account when it arrived, and have some cool stuff filed away. But I never thought of using it like the poster did. I have a project coming soon and this will be the perfect way to gather and collate the needed information. See how cool blogging is? 😀
    Hope all is well up there Debbie. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

