Uncertainty

Writing 101: Day 3

ID-100278159

When I was a kid, one of my favorite television shows was “Let’s Make a Deal.” It had all the elements of great entertainment – everyone came to the show dressed in outrageous costumes hoping to garner the attention of the host, Monty Hall. To be chosen meant an opportunity to select a door, win a prize, and then decide if you wanted to trade it away for a “better” deal behind another door.

Life is pretty much one BIG “Let’s Make a Deal” game. We get dressed up every day hoping to get noticed. Then, once we do, we’re given an opportunity to blindly choose a direction for our life – to select a door and step through with the promise of a reward. Some are happy to settle for the first door they’ve chosen and take comfort in the security of knowing what’s behind that door. Others are more adventurous and seek a bigger prize. These risk takers are willing to move out of their comfort zone and face the uncertainty of what’s behind the second or even the third door.

While I’ve generally been a test-the-waters-first kind of person, as I’ve gotten older, I’ve decided it was time to embrace the challenge of not knowing what’s behind the next door. Taking the leap into the freelance writing world and chasing the lure of the written word has unleashed the courage to face my fears head on. My path may now be faced with uncertainty, but through experience I’ve learned there is no greater anticipation than opening Door #2 to take a peek inside. And no greater reward than realizing it wasn’t so scary after all.

Are you ready to pick a door with me?

Enthusiastically,

Debbie Dey

Image courtesy of Stuart Miles at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

7 thoughts on “Uncertainty

  1. “”[N]o greater anticipation than opening Door #2 to take a peek inside.” Don’t we all learn from being curious! If we aren’t curious, we don’t get to know anything.

    “And no greater reward than realizing it wasn’t so scary after all.” The fear is mental! There is indeed a great reward in overcoming our unfounded [mostly mental] fears when we take the first timid step of faith before going in for the giant leap!?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Totally agree about this being a life situation. Most of my life I’ve opted for that 2nd door, the ultimate being a move out of my comfort zone in rural Australia to a new life in your country. Sure, it was uncertain and a risk, and maybe it didn’t end up as planned, but the experiences over that 10 year period are irreplaceable and I would never not want to have them. So I look forward to reading about your experiences through that 2nd door, Debbie. 😀👍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve always thought that people from other countries and cultures are brought up to explore the world. I have friends in England, Ukraine and Kazistan that have lived in other parts of the world. They may not have even spoken the language & yet they embraced the adventure. I’m a little jealous. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well it’s never too late to do that. I can sense that you’d grasp the opportunity if the time was right. I recall when I first moved, how exciting it was to be in a place where only one person, my wife, knew me at that point. It was like being reborn. New things to learn and do. Driving on the other side of the road, living with snow/ice, different foods, accents…a friend commented that she didn’t think she could do what I did, especially dealing with cold. But as I have always believed, humans are very adaptable and in time we do come to terms with change. That 2nd door is beckoning. 😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

