Procrastination = Creativity?

Writing 101, Day 5 – Let’s Get Social

This assignment gave me pause as I’ve always thought that “I work best under pressure” and that my procrastination actually leads to improved results. Faced with this Twitter question, I’m taking a step back to really explore if my interpretation is just an excuse to procrastinate more or if I truly do become more creative with a looming deadline to push me.

ID-100214057

I always have the best of intentions. I get an assignment, I start “thinking” about what I’m going to write about, and then I set it aside to work on when I have more time to focus. 

Then, of course, life gets in the way.

My main problem is I always take on too much. I’m a wife, mother, work a full-time day job, and I do freelance writing at night. I like being busy but sometimes take it to extremes. 

I don’t like being a procrastinator. In fact, it really irritates me when I’m hurrying to appointments or rushing to meet a deadline – which is most of the time. To be honest, it’s a little exhausting to always be running. 

Okay, enough procrastinating – let me explore if it affects my creativity.

I am not a plotter. I am totally a pantser. While I do formulate a concept in my head and have a general idea of how I’ll get from Point A to Point B, I rarely prepare a written outline. I sit down at the keyboard, put my fingers on the keys and start writing. That’s not to say that I don’t cut and paste or add and delete (that’s why I love computers so much), I’m always reorganizing before I reach my final product. The beauty of my process is that it doesn’t require me to plan too far ahead. In fact, the pressure I feel at procrastinating actually helps me focus. I know I have a looming deadline or just a small window of time before something else will call me away, and I’m forced to think creatively (and I do).

Some of my best ideas have come under pressure. Instead of just taking the first thing that pops into my head, I find myself exploring ideas that, if given the time to really think about them, I would overthink and not write about. I have good instincts and writing from my gut, on the fly, generally results in something unique and organic.

So, there you have it – for me, procrastination does equal creativity. I’m glad I got that out of the way; I ‘m late for a meeting.

Enthusiastically (but always rushing to do it),

Debbie Dey

Image Courtesy of Stuart Miles at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

5 thoughts on “Procrastination = Creativity?

Leave a Reply

