Hook ’em with a quote

Writing 101: Day 7

It’s never too late to be what you might have been.

-George Elliot

This is the quote that kick-started my freelance writing career.

Writing, as I’ve stated time and again here, is in my blood. But, it’s only been the last couple years that I’ve actually pursued this passion. 

I was too afraid or too busy or too old…or that’s the way I used to think.

I started to dabble in the content marketing game in 2013. It was a way to test the waters, make a few cents a word and feel as if I was a writer. It was surprising to me that people would actually pay for simple articles or blogs that took just a little research and a few hours of my spare time.

I must admit my curiosity was piqued, but I still wasn’t sure I was truly capable of making it into a career.

Never one to back down from a challenge, that little voice in my head kept urging me to “go for it.” However, years of stifling that voice had become a habit that was really hard to break. “If only I had done this years ago,” I would argue with myself. “I’m already in my 50s. Who’s going to take my work serious this late in life?” These were my internal roadblocks to putting pen to paper and giving it a shot.

Then….the quote.

My friend had listened to all my rationalizations and excuses. As always, the poor thing had to endure my endless chatter about why I couldn’t or wouldn’t push through the self-doubt. No matter what encouraging words she used to challenge my position, I resisted.

Finally, she stopped talking and found the only thing that would help me finally see the light…

761cd6fe0cbfd24c8ba2e4c9b83a1f58

She was right, and I’ll be forever grateful!

Enthusiastically,

Debbie Dey

6 thoughts on “Hook ’em with a quote

  1. Pingback: Thank you! | spontaneous whimsy

Leave a Reply

