Love & Marriage: Forever is a Long Time

large

It was June 27, 1981 at around 6:45 p.m. My handsome husband and I had been married for about an hour. We had snuck away to our pre-paid hotel room for a few moments alone before our wedding reception started. As we gazed into each other’s eyes, the excitement of the day was mingled with something more…wild-eyed fear. We embraced for a brief moment and then simultaneously exclaimed, “What the hell did we just do?” I was 19 when I met my husband, Donnie. I was a tall, slim blonde that had inherited two distinguishing characteristics from my mom – her brains and her boobs (okay, so maybe that’s three things.) While I was smart enough to know that boys were attracted to me for my looks, I was hopeful that I’d find a man that would love me for my brains too. Surprisingly, my dad actually brought Donnie home that day. They worked together, and Dad had extended an invitation for him to go fishing at our cottage in Canada over the long, 4th of July weekend. Mom and Dad still own that summer resort on a beautiful, well-stocked lake. A couple weeks before, Donnie had missed a fishing […]

Source: Love & Marriage: Forever is a Long Time

2 thoughts on “Love & Marriage: Forever is a Long Time

    1. Thank you, Gabriela for your kind words. Relationships can be challenging, but sometimes we all need to step outside ourselves to examine the choices we’ve made in life to understand just how good some of them are.

      Like

Leave a Reply

