If You Don’t Ask, You Won’t Get

Did you know?eyes-937972_640

Female freelance writers earn more per hour than men doing the same work until they reach $100 per hour and then men consistently outearn them. The main reason? The women undervalue their experience and skills.

While it’s not a subject that’s often tackled in the cyber world, gender isn’t necessarily the issue, a lack of confidence is often the reason women fall behind in earning power.

I’ve worked in the construction industry for years and have often struggled with the stereotypes related to the field. And while it’s taken years to break through some of the barriers I’ve encountered simply because of my sex, I’ve realized that some were actually built by me.

When I first started freelancing, like when I started working in construction, I felt lucky to have found clients that were willing to pay for my writing and settled for mere pennies a word. I always thought I was a pretty good writer and would often compare my work to others’. It didn’t take long to figure out that something was wrong.

Whether it was the large number of candles on my birthday cake or the fact that I was solely responsible for the success or failure of my freelance writing business, I quickly realized that only I could change things.

I had to stop shortchanging my talents. I had to believe in myself if I wanted to earn what I was worth. I’m proud to say that I’ve overcome my early insecurities and now run a successful freelancing business. You can too if you:

  • Practice, practice, practice. The more you write, the more comfortable you’ll feel with your craft.
  • Don’t let yourself make excuses for not pursuing your dreams. You’re never too old or too feminine or too inexperienced to tell your stories.
  • If you don’t ask, you won’t get. Why do men make more money freelancing? Because they ask for it. Take a deep breath, and ask. You’re worth it!

Now that you’re earning more money with your freelance business, you’ll want to find an easy way to get paid. Take a look at Invoice2go and their new, free invoice template generator. It’s a fantastic resource for anyone interested in digital invoicing. Give it a try today!


Giving Your Vision A Voice. Let me help you express your message.

Now offering Business Freelance Writing and Virtual Assistant Services.

Visit my Contact page to get started today.

Leave a Reply

